21160 Box Springs Road Suite 102 Moreno Valley, CA 92557    T: 951.684.6732   F: 951.782.0621   E: President@RiversideCFB.com
Home Upper Santa Margarita Irrigated Lands Group (USMILG) What's New About RCFB Site Map Contact Us
   » AG Magazine
   » AG Information
  » Certified Farmers Markets
   » Legislators
   » Benefits
   » Member Renewal
   » Join Farm Bureau
   » CFBF
   » American FB

Events: Howie Award: 2009 Recipient

Riverside County Farm Bureau is Proud to Announce
The Howie Award Recipient of 2009

Carl Garczynski


This year’s Howie Award was presented to Carl Garczynski of Indio. Carl worked over 42 years for the National Weather Service and spent the majority of his time in agricultural and fire weather meteorology. He retired from the National Weather Service in 1996 and went on to serve as the Chief Meteorologist for the Desert Weather Services in Indio.

Mr. Garczynski was born in Beaver Dam, Wisconsin and raised in Milwaukee. He served four years in the U.S. Navy as a meteorologist and received his Bachelor and Masters Degrees in meteorology from San Jose State University. He spent two years of meteorological research in the Antarctic from 1958 to 1960. He was named the Chief Meteorologist for the 1984 Olympics in Los Angeles. Later, he was named the Chief Meteorologist for the 1988 Yellowstone Fires. Mr. Garczynski was also the meteorologist/climber for the American 1992 Mt. Everest Expedition. Carl has also climbed most of the higher mountains in North America plus the highest mountains on each of the seven continents, however, he also says, "…but not quite to the summits of Everest, Tibet or Vinson Massif, Antarctic." Most recently, in the summer of 2007, Carl climbed Mount Elbrus in the Caucasus Mountains of Southern Russia which is the highest mountain in Europe.

Carl has been a resident of the Coachella Valley since 1966. He has five children and ten grandchildren. The RCFB would like to thank Carl for his years of dedicated service to Riverside County agriculture and congratulate him on receiving the 2009 Howie Award from the RCFB.


What is the Howie Award?